Dorkinyork.reismee.nl

Want a ride on my taxi duck?

Morning!

The last few days I've been too tired to write a blog. I've been working 3 days in a row. Which wouldn't be very bad if they were just normal 8hour shifts. But lucky me could work 11,5 hours a day! So well I have to tell you, after that your bed is your best friend. Yesterday I even worked 14 hours. But I didn't really mind because I went to an operation theatre! I watched while the doctors cut someone open and pulled half of his bowels open. It was really interesting and I had this huge urge to ask if I could touch and poke and stuff. But luckily I resisted.

Anyways London!
London was really awesome. I am definitely going back again! Even tho we went for 5 days we haven't seen everything. We did see the Big Ben (Yay!), Madame Tussauds, Tower of London, Tower Bridge and Buckingham Palace with its change of the guard. And we were really lucky with the weather. Everytime we went out to play tourist the sun was shining.
Don't ask me why but I have always been a huge fan of the Big Ben. When I told that to a colleague she just looked weird at me and told me it's just a clock. But still if I think about London I think about the Big Ben. So naturally when I saw Bennie I got overly excited and I took, well, too many pictures of it.
Madame Tussauds is really amazing. It's way bigger then the one in Amsterdam. And the people in it are way cooler. I can tell a huge story about it but I think it's better if I just post the pictures so have a look!
Tower of London was pretty impressive too. We spend 2 hours in there and apparantly we still haven't seen everything. But we did see the crown jewels and some towers where they kept prisoners. You see a lot of writing on the walls that's carved in there by prisoners over the years. The story about the 2 princes that most probably have been killed there was impressive to read. There was also a tower where you could see some torture machine thingies. It's just so weird to stand in a room where years ago people died or have been tortured.
And at last Buckingham Palace. We went to see the change of the guards, which is a big ceremony they do every morning or every other morning. There were a lot of people so we didn't see everything but it was still cool to watch. And the most important thing, the new guards were from Nijmegen!!!!!!! I felt so at home. And they had those cool little hats youknow. Well it's not really little, actually they are just big. But they are cool.

Ah and the first morning in our hotel was, well eventful. At about 7 am the fire alarm started screaming. I remembered Brigit telling me that sometimes the alarm in her building starts and stops after a few minutes. So I kind of expected it to go off again. (It was very early, my brain was still in sleeping mode) So well after a few minutes of confused staring I realised it was maybe better to go out. So we went down without coats, sorry about that Ricky, and had to stand outside with all the other guests. It was kind of funny cause some people looked even worse then me. So well turned out someone had been smoking in his room, while everywhere are signs about this being a smokefree hotel. But hey who am I to judge.

Oh and I have the cutest little souvenirs. I have a little Big Ben (ofcourse), a little Tower Bridge, a red London bus, a red telephonecellthingy and a taxi duck!! Ohmygod I love my taxi duck. I mean look how cute it is:

Isn't it adorable?

So yeah that was London

Laughing

The only thing I don't like about England is the fact that there are no trashbins. You have to walk around like an hour with your rubbish before you can throw it away. And still they managed to keep the streets cleaner then Holland. How do they do it?

Thanks for reading and leave a message!

Love

ps. Photos will come but this is my only free day and I need to do some homework ew. And tonight I am going to eat with Brigit and her parents! Yay.

Reacties

Reacties

Roel

Those english folks are just really tidy, not like us dutch people that simply don't care!

We got our floor yesterday! It's awesome to see all that wood stacked up just waiting to be stepped on :P

ishma

:o DUCKIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

AND SHOW US THE PHOTOS :x

Stacey

Happy that you enjoyed London. I've been ther a couple of times but always very short so I haven't seen some of the attractions you've seen.

looking forward to your return so we can hear your stories first-hand :D

Enjoy your last weeks there. and good luck with school.

Btw big ben is the bell inside the tower. What everyone calls big ben is actually the palace of Westminster where the houses of parliament are seated. (sorry bit of a neurotic person on that subject ;) )

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!